good wide angle lens for general use

peter_howard2

Hi, I'm new to photography so please excuse me if I seem thick - truth is when it comes to photography I AM! I'm a

senior who is now able to take up a dream held for many years but WOW it now seems so complicated. On advice

I've purchased a Nikon D60 with the 18 - 55mm Zoom VR lens; I'm exchanging the 55-200 for a 70-300mm VR Zoom

as I hope to go on Safari late this year. Now I would like a wide angle to get some of those "special" senic sunsets.

Can anyone help with some SIMPLE advice please?

Strange as it may seem, scenic photography is done with 18/55 lens.

Wide lenses are made to emphasise the size of near objects compared to far objects. As you try to capture more in the frame, objects get small.

I have a 12/24 with is probably the best wide lens available. If I stand in one corner of a room at 12 mm, it will almost take in the full room. Most scenics do not have interesting elements over that wide a span, and if they are there , they will necessarily be ve very small,

Having done landscapes for 50 years, the most usefull focal lengths are 24 to 70 on a D60 camera, 35/100 for a 35mm film camera.

Hi Peter. My lenses cover 10 to 210mm. The one that makes it on to the camera LEAST often is the 10-20mm zoom. Ronald's advice is spot-on in my experience. With your budget I think you are covered. If you are going on safari, take plenty of memory cards and sufficient card cases and shoot RAW. Here in the UK, www.7dayshop.com is about the best source. I'd go for between 6 and 10 4gb SDHC cards - (probably Sandisc Ultra 2 at 10.99 for 4gb if you are not fussed about frame rates, although I use Dane-Elec class 4 cards at 7.99 for a 4gb card) - depending on the length of the safari.