Architectural Interiors

marc_compton

Hey everyone, I just registered to this site and really like it so far. I have been stoked with all of the great

advice and support everyone seems to give out. The greatest teacher is experience, and it is such a painful

thing to gain at times. I am trying to do my homework to produce some successful images and have a happy client

when everything is said and done.

I am a beginning photographer and have limited experience shooting Architectural Interiors. Nonetheless, I have

bravely accepted a challenge to shoot a friend of a friend's project that she was the Interior Designer on. This

is no small task as the home is large, and quite detailed although I have not seen it yet. The shoot is in a

month, so I am doing some homework on techniques and or opinions on how best to tackle this job. I work in the

Architectural Industry, so am familiar with what is beautiful and Architecturally significant in a home, so that

is not an issue for me, however there are challenges I don't know how to solve just yet.

Lighting is my main concern. I spoke to one lighting pro and they said I could go with hot lights as opposed to

strobes... The house is most likely Tungsten anyway, so they would balance right out of the box. I have had

limited experience with strobes in studio photography, so don't have a ton of confidence in getting what I want

right away. Any opinions out there? The rooms figure to be large (the house is 15,000 sq. ft.), so I am

planning on simply accenting whatever available light I have, and keeping a warm effect. I don't want to light

it up like a basketball arena... Am I on the right track?

I plan on renting lights and possibly a wide angle lens. I currently have a 17-85 IS for my Canon 30d, but I

thought a wider lens (12mm or so) was called for.

Any advice is very greatly appreciated.

Thanks.