Which Extension Tube (or closeup filter) is Best for Closeups W/ 80mm Planar on a manual Hasselblad?

jerry_cargill

I am a high school photo teacher. We have a Hassie manual focus with one lens: a 80mm 2.8 Planar, and the closest

we can get is about 4 feet, which gives us head and chest, but we would like to be able to get close enough to do

head shots. Unfortunately we don't have the funds for a new lens, the camera and lens we have were gifts to the

school. We do have the funds for an extension tube for the 80mm lens, but I have never purchased this kind of

item in my years of photo and need to know which one is the BEST tube to add to be able to do head shots with

this 80mm? We are not looking to shoot super-macro closeups of butterflies, products or anything like that, just

need to get close enough for head shots. Or is a filter better than a tube? Thanks!

An 8mm extension would give you the best range for head shots. IMO, this will require you to work too close for favorable perspective and will result in exaggerated features closest to the lens. A 150 lens work work without an extension tube and give the proper perspective. Used 150's are among the most common and cheapest lenses for the Hasselblad - better to save your money.

Hasselblad publishes a white paper on closeups which is about the best I've ever seen. Closeup effects are given as a range of field (subject) sizes for various lenses and extension tubes. See (http://www.hasselbladusa.com/media/b257f2b0-cd24-497b-b21f-47dcf6ee295a-Closeup.pdf)

An 8 mm tube would be best with the 80 mm lens.<br><br>Have a look at <a href="http://www.hasselbladhistorical.eu/HT/HTCuC.aspx" target="_blank">this calculator</a>.<br><br>You can play around with the different tube lengths there. Remember that Hasselblad tubes come in 8 mm, 10 mm, 16 mm, 21 mm, 32 mm, 55 mm and 56 mm.<br>