I am fairly new to the DSLR world. I got a 40D about 3 month's ago. I have been learning a lot and would like to start

shooting in RAW...especially when I go on long missions. The only thing is I don't know how to use Photoshop and

don't want to spend $700 on CS3. RAW files for the 40D are not compatible with CS2. I was told not to use the

software that came with the camera. Are there any good alternatives? Also-what are the real advantages of shootng

in RAW as opposed to jpeg?

"I was told not to use the software that came with the camera"<br>

Use it, instead, DPP is better than Adobe.<br>

If you need to edit more, I can suggest a couple of products.<br><br>

"Also-what are the real advantages of shootng in RAW as opposed to jpeg? "<br>

The advantage is: "more control". You can recover better a shot that was not perfect.

Use Canon Digital Photo Pro (DPP) to make your primary CR2 file adjustments and then save your results as a TIFF

file. You can then load and edit the TIFF file in Photoshop. That workflow should provide excellent results.

Whoever told you to avoid DPP gave you very, very bad advice. Unless someone has alternative software like Adobe

Lightroom, Canon's DPP is a fine, and virtually free, starting place.

If and when you decide to upgrade, Adobe Lightroom is the finest image organizing and RAW processing system

currently available.

i use photoshop cs3 and its amazing, the recovery of RAW photos is so easy.. i say if you cant afford it, save up because its a very great investment.

software and camera go hand in hand, they have to be harmonious.. that way your photos come out better and if you have alot of trouble with photos not coming out the way you want, mess with White Balance Temperature.. it gives it more color tone, or even messing with the amount of color being taken in ... More saturation or vivid color setting. This is what i do with my Nikon D80