Sensor emergency!

jasna_hodzic

I got a Canon40D about 2 weeks ago and I love it. However, I have a BIG problem.

I don't know how this could have happened, but randomally there is aLOT of dust,

hair, and smudges all over my sensor. I have no idea how this happened as I

always change my lenses when it's off, and the amount of it is just unbelievable. I

put it to manual clean just to look at it, and there is a huge smudge on it. I really

don't know if this is a scartch or what, but I am freaking out.

I am also not a novice. I did not even expose my sensor up to this point.

Here are some sample pics. This was definitely not here before.

is it completley useless now? I am planning on taking it to a local camera place,

but I am REALLY scared.

http://i27.tinypic.com/301hnyu.jpg

That is a lot of junk on your sensor, but remember it's not really the sensor, just a glass plate over the sensor. Take a deep breath, get a wet clean process, I use Copperhill, and clean it according to their instructions, even if you have to do it several times. I had a smudge on a 5D sensor that required a half a dozen swabs and was no worse for the wear. It's really not a big deal, which you'll realize after you've done one for the first time.

AFA sending it out to be cleaned, I read about too many people sending their cameras off to have the sensor cleaned and getting them back no better than before, especially from some local shop. This isn't going to be the last time you're gonna get crap on your sensor, you might as well learn to do it yourself. Good luck.

Hi Jasna,

That's a lot of gunk on your sensor, I doubt whether you can get it off without some wet cleaning method. Don't panic, as mentioned before it's just a glass plate that needs cleaning. I guess it's about the same as my 5D once was. Probably some oil from the shutter or mirror mechanism.