Buying lighting equipment from ebay

sarahbeth1

I am an amatuer photographer looking to try my hand at studio work. I don't know

anything about lighting manufacturers and wanted to purchase a studio light kit

that is "all in one." I looked on ebay and found that they have some kits

manufactured by Still Shot 2. Is this a good company? Does anyone have

information on the products quality

The main lesson on this subject: inexpensive kits as usually found on eBay are wildly inferior, generally frustrating, and ultimately a very poor use of the money you spend (since you will, inevitably - even as an amateur - end up spending it all over again anyway).

<br><br>

There's absolutely nothing wrong with picking up individual pieces of what you need as you learn. If you are looking to start to modify light to suit your purposes, consider getting a single decent strobe, stand, softbox or umbrella, and a 48" or so reflector (with stand, ideally). That will keep you busy and learning for a long time. What camera are you using? What's your budget? What's your studio environment like, size-wise? Any thoughts about what you'll be initially shooting (people? table-top products? groups? babies? etc)?

<br><br>

Consider starting with something <a href="http://www.alienbees.com/beginner.html" target="_blank"><b>like the Beginner Bee package</b></a> from AlienBees.com, and perhaps supplement it with something like <a href="http://www.laurphoto.com/prdr/westcott_reflector_kit" target="_blank"><b>this Westcott reflector kit</b></a>. You can add a second strobe, background support, etc., as you get the hang of it and put more money together. You will be very glad to buy lighting gear from a company you'll actually be able to talk to about replacement parts, and which doesn't involve warranty service in China. Have fun!

Matt, Thank you for your response. I didn't think it would be a good idea to buy

from ebay. I have a budget of $500.00 to start. I really don't want to start with