My pricing - Question about pricing from newcomer

dustin_hatcher

Hello All,

I'm new to posting here (although I've lurked quite a bit). I thought I'd come out and introduce

myself. I'm Dustin and I'm looking into getting into wedding photography. I'm a full time IT tech

by day and have always been a photography enthusiast since I was young.

I was turned on to doing [paid] wedding photography when several people mentioned to me I

should charge to do weddings. I love to photograph people and I think weddings are generally

fun because everyone is usually in that happy go lucky but tossed with a side of chaos mood. It

tends to make quality moments for the camera. :)

I've officially shot 2 weddings in my life. 1 when I was about 15 and taking photography in high

school and my Mom took photography at the local community center. She [Mom] was asked by

a co-worker to photograph her daughter's wedding because they had no money for a "real"

photographer. So we did it and the pictures turned out quite well and they were happy with it.

I'm sorry to say unfortunately I was young and just handed over the negatives [wish I'd kept

them now darnit heh].

The other wedding I shot was a couple years ago for a friend covering as a backup photographer

for his cousin who was doing the main photography on Leica equipment. My buddy asked me to

cover with digital so they could upload stuff to the web right away for family & friends who

couldn't attend.

Anyways, not to make this post much longer than it really has to be, I've been trying to go about

all this very methodically and slooowly. My wife and I have been putting together contracts, our

website and trying to add to our portfolio. We pretty much have everything in place including our

pricing packages... which is what brings me to this post (thanks to all those still reading :) ).

I crossed over another post here about someone asking if they're seeing the price of wedding