Advise me how to approach this situation - new to weddings

alisa_stieg

Disclaimer: I am a very amateur photographer. My experience (limited) is in

portraiture.

I got a new lens for my camera and took it to school the other day to "get to know

it" and one of my fellow teachers approached me about photographing her

wedding. I told her weddings terrified me and it was not a situation I had

experience with...a LOT of pressure! But she assured me that up to that point,

they hadn't even planned on a photographer and were planning on relying on the

shots taken by their guests. She offered to pay me (I have no idea what is

reasonable here considering my complete lack of experience).

At this point, I'm approaching this as an amazing opportunity to grow my skills as

a photographer, but I have no idea how to even begin. As laid back as she is in

her attitude about the photographs, I want whatever I do to be high quality. I don't

let anything go out the door with my name attached to it that I wouldn't put on the

walls myself (and I spend a lot of time doing pp to make it as perfect as possible).

Here is my gear:

Pentax K100D

Tamron 18-250mm lens

Tamron 70-300 lens

Pentax DA 18-55mm lens

Pentax F 50mm (1:1.7)

I also have various on-camera flashes and a Gary Fong Light Sphere as well as a

studio light set-up (which I would like to NOT take at all).

Soooo, here's my question; What should I shoot with? I'm thinking the 50mm,

but a zoom would be nice so I don't have to be obtrusive during the ceremony.

What kind of shots do I take? Even though these won't be near the quality of

someone with more experience, I would like to have an idea of the moments I

should be looking to capture.

Those of you with experience, if you would be willing to share mistakes you made

in your early wedding endeavors that I should avoid, I would be forever in your

debt. I'm sure I will be making plenty of my own, I'm sure! Mistakes are the best