Filters

blades

Hi guys

Using a D80 with 18-135, just got it and want to get a couple of filters before

europe holiday in six weeks, what is the best polarising filter you recommend, is a

circular the standard?? not quite sure if this is the norm as im just starting out.

Also as i want to take shots of eiffel tower etc at night, (im taking tripod) do you

think the above lense will be ok, as in fast enough?? or should i invest in

something else? would it be worth investing in remote?? thanks in advance for any

tips you can share....dont want to miss the opportunity. Ill be out practising this

weekend at night, six weeks until we leave.

thanks

Sounds like a fun trip.

Circular Polarizer are the best. You just turn it until you get the right effect. I have never used any other type.

If you bring your tripod your lens will do fine. If money is not problem I would buy a 50 f1.8 for around 100 USD or a Sigma 30 f1.4 around 300 USD I think. These lenses are fast enough if you need to take any shots at night and you can't use your tripod. Inside a restaurant, etc. Every body loves the Nikon 50, the Sigma there are people who will recommend it and some that will tell you not to get it.

The wireless remote is not really a big deal. you can use the self timer but I would suggest you get the regular remote to avoid camera shake when you take shots at night. Rene'

To be short, circular polarizers are required with semi-translucent mirrors, it means almost all modern AF cameras. Linear polarizers are usually restricted to the older manual focus cameras.

IMO your lens is right, unless you want to show a shallower depth of field on your images. Even with a f1.4 lens you`ll probably need to use tripod to have a crisp image.