50 f/1.4 or 17-55 2/8IS or Sigma 24-60 f/2.8

Ok pro's. Currently I have the 17-85IS lens on my 40D. I want something a little

crisper if ya will in shooting portraits with studio lighting but I also want some

what of a everyday walk around lens. So what would you suggest bewtween

these choices or would ya suggest selling the 17-85IS and buying two of the

others?

I think the 50mm is a little long on a crop body to make a good walk-around lens. It does make an excellent portrait lens on a crop body though. If you're concerned about budget, maybe pick up a used Olympus Zuiko 50mm f1.4 and adapter for less than $100. That way you can kep the 17-85, which seems like a great walk-around lens.

I'm no pro, but I've used the 'cheap' 50mm 1.4 lens on a Canon 350 & I loved it. I just bought one to go with my 450 that is arriving Monday.

It's hard to go wrong with that lens, as it's so inexpensive & does so well. Plus, primes make you think more about the shot (in my very limited exp)

Aubrey, I have the 50 1.4 and it is a great portrait lens but not a good walk around lens ( to

long) . I just ordered a 28 1.8 to use as a walk around when I want fast and small.

I hear the 17-55 is great but $1000 for an EF-S yikes, maybe a Tamron 17-50 2.8?

There are a lot of comments in photo.net about the 50mm being "too long" on a cropped sensor body for a walk around or portrait lens as if it's chiseled on a stone tablet somewhere.That's not true IMO. Whether or not it is true will depend greatly on the individual and their needs. No matter what, it's a fine lens.

I do think that a mid-FL zoom is the way to go for a walk about though. Can't comment on the Sigma but can say that the 17-55 2.8IS is a great lens and will serve you very will as a walk around/landscape lens if you don't mind the price.Good luck.