Please help a newbie with a Rebel XTi...

derrickdehaan

I am new to photography and just crossed over from a point and shoot. Wow, is

there a lot to learn! I like landscapes, portraits, and other general

photography, but my main purchase for this camera and setup was for my

hobby....marble collecting. Therefore, I take close-ups and lots of them. I

have the Rebel XTi, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5 DC "macro" lens, and the Canon MT-24EX

flash. I have the software that came with the camera as well as Photoshop

Elements 6. I shoot with a tripod using aperture priority and wireless remote,

but am not having much luck. Since the surface of the marbles are smooth and

reflective, I can see a "reflection" of what I am assuming is the lens. The MT-

24ex flash is a new purchase, and I thought that it would get rid of this

problem. I shoot from 8 to 10 inches away from the subject. Any help would be

appreciated. Great site!

Derrick

You might want to post an example of your image to better find an answer.

Spherical reflective surfaces are going to reflect something, even in a light box. But you might try a light box and see if that spreads the light enough, along with a polarizer to eliminate as much reflection as possible.

Thanks Charles, I had planned on posting a picture, but am away from the house at the moment. I will get one up. I will also add that I was in a home-made light box and had a U/V filter on. The lens was out at 70mm. I know my post is rather worthless without pictures, so I will get one up. Thanks again.

My 2 cents, A marbles is a 180+ degree fisheye lens looking right back at you. You won't able to hide yourselves. I would try cover everything else but the lens and light source opening with black cloths. The MT-24EX type symetrical lighting can only eliminate reflection from flat surfaces, not a fisheye surface reflection.