580EX II Auto External Flash Metering surprise

alan_chan4

Just got this flash for the 40D a month ago and everything seems to work great.

Shots in E-TTL II is good. So today I was trying the radio slaves with this

flash and to my BIG surprise, it underexposes by 2 stops in Auto External Flash

Metering mode. Now I am no newbie to flash exposure and I can run any flash in

any mode from full manual to full auto in any situations. But when compared to

the Metz plain auto flash, the 580EX II consistantly underexposes by 2 stops. A

quick check with a Sekonic meter confirms it. A brief search reveals some other

580EX II owners had the same experience too. So what's the deal? Have Canon

knowledged this issue and had a fix for it? Man I was planning to use it off

camera too with radio slave and this is a total let down (yeah I know I can

alter the manual iso & aperture to compensate but this is not a cheap flash by

any mean). :(

Yup, same results on a 20d, have not bothered aith it on a 40d. all my metz,sunpaks and old toshiba far more accurate, when I rand canon thay would not admit there was a problem, maybe they should poke around some forums. have not heard a good word for this feature yet :(

"I thought that feature only worked with the mark III versions of the 1D level cameras?"

The 1D3 was the first to support the automatic passing of ISO and Aperture information to the flash, but only whilst it was mounted on camera. Since then the 1Ds3, 40D, and STi have been added to the list.

You have to set the ISO and aperture combination if the camera isn't able to communicate them to the flash, either because they aren't connected or the camera doesn't provide the data in a form that the 580EX II can digest. I still find it peculiar that Metz can automatically pick up ISO and aperture with older cameras that the Canon flash can't handle at all. Maybe Canon will get it right eventually.