Difference in 28mm lenses

brian_bahn

I want to get a wide angle lens for my OM1 and have been wathing EBay for one.

I am basically a complete newb at this but have been reading a lot over the

past few weeks. I have a 50mm and 70-210mm for my OM1 but want a 28mm or 24mm.

So far it seems the 28mm can be had much more reasonable and for now I want to

keep the invesment fairly low until I feel I deserve to buy better equipment.

No reason for a rookie to have the better stuff when he has little clue as to

use it to it's full potential and appreciation.

I primarily see two different 28mm lenses, one is a f3.5 and the other a f2.8.

The f2.8 looks like it goes for nearly twice the price as the f3.5. My

question is why? Does the one f stop(I'm assuming one f stop like I said I'm

still pretty green at this) make that much of a difference or are the optics

better as well? If I buy the f3.5 based on price will I regret it later and

wish I really would have bought the 2.8?

I think you would regret either purchase if you want to try to keep things cheap. The 2/3rds of a stop of speed difference between the 2.8 and the 3.5 is really the reason why there is such a cost difference.

My suggestion is look for a Tamron 28mm f/2.5 and if it doesn't come with one an Adaptall OM adaptor (just search "Tamron 28mm" and "Adaptall OM" on Ebay and it will pull up both). The Tamron 28mm f/2.5 is faster then either lens and even if you have to purchase an adaptor seperately much cheaper then either. I ended up getting my Tamron 28mm f/2.5 for $40 shipped compared to an average of about $40-50 for the Zuiko 28mm f/3.5 or around $80-100 for the Zuiko 28mm f/2.8

The adaptor on the lens is very easy to figure out how to replace with a different one. If you can't figure it out, just ask on here.

Something else you could look for is a Sigma 24mm f/2.8 lens in OM mount, it is a superb performer and can generally be had pretty cheap (I got mine for around $50 a couple of years ago).