what make and/or models of old, american made, cameras have collectible value?

I'm no expert but just about anything that Walter Teague put his hand to, like the Beau Brownies, the Bantam special and the beautiful Super Kodak 620. The special versions of the Brownies, such as the Boy Scouts and world trade fair etc. seem to fetch big prices on the collectors market.

I once looked at a Ansco TLR, can't remember what it was called, but recall that it was beautifully built in what looked like stainless steel.

Tony

Look at Gene M's postings, and you will see that just about anything is collectible and why that is so.

You need to pick up a copy of one of the guides to collectible cameras. There are dozens and your public library should be able to help you. There are hundreds of collectible American-made cameras.

Valuable American cameras include the Kodak Ektra, Premier Kardon, Bell & Howell Foton, and Kodak "Original" box camera, among others.

Other models that are desirable collectors items but not necesssarily rare or especially valuable are the Kodak Bantam Special, Ansco Automatic Reflex, Argus C, Argus K, Argoflex II, Univex Mercury CC-1500. Some of these (the Ansco for example) are fine cameras but not especially rare and can he had for a modest cost, while others such as the Argoflex II are not necessarily great designs but are very scarce and may demand higher prices. There are a number of earlier (ie, 19th century and pre-WWI) American cameras that are historically significant and rare, but that gets out of my territory.......

I agree with all the suggestions above. The question is what is 'collectible value' mean to you? A collector values cameras because of their history and the fun of trying them out. But there are very few cameras that could be seen as any kind of investment. For value you would be better to put your money into a savings account.

I would love to het my hands on the late 20's bakelite QRS Kamra.