D2Hs for digital, and lenses including 20mm f2.8, 28mm f1.4, 85mm f1.8, 20-

35mm f2.8, 28-70mm f2.8, 80-200mm f2.8, 300mm f4, etc. In general, they are

all good, and rarely let you down. However, with situation being changed, I am

currently looking for a zoom lens ranging from wide angle to mid tele for my

travel. I studied Nikkor 24-120mm f3.5-5.6 G lens. The comments from outside

are mixed. Then I looked what Canon has - a nice Canon Zoom Wide Angle-

Telephoto EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Autofocus Lens. One of features that appeals

is its Fixed Aperture. However, I would like to keep all my equipment in one

uniform. Any suggestions or comments for my dilemma? Thanks.

What body are you looking to use this lens on? If you're using a film body, I'd recommend that 24-105 VR G lens. Image criticisms aside (which, in all honestly, is not that noticeable unless you regularly print larger than 8x12), the lens will will perform and not let you down for your described requirements. If you will be using this lens on a digital body, I'd recommend either the 16 - 85 VR or the 18-200 VR (or if you can find it used, the 18-70). Like the 24-105 VR, people have their criticisms of those lenses, but for all intents and purposes, those lenses excel at what they were meant for (which is, an all-around walk around lens for people who care more about image emotional impact than sharpness and test shots of brick walls).

Cammeron gave a perfect answer.

Since the 16/85 was not made a year ago, I settled on a 18/70 and 55/200. 18/70 is made pretty well. 55/200 Vr is plastic, so it is not as robust as better lenses, so I am careful with it.

I have also gotten some primes and the consmer zooms hold up well to them.

Zooms can have some weird distortion of straight lines and so do Nikkor wide primes, but those are limited to simple curves that are more easily corrected. PtLens will repair the zooms if you use a windows pc, Lens Fix if you use a Mac. Both are photoshop plug-ins.