Hunting for a #10 Cirkut Camera

Hi all,

Hunting for a #10 Cirkut camera.

Anybody know of a working example somewhere that could be purchased?

I've had some successes locally shooting (and selling) panos, and would use it

to shoot vintage car and vintage motorcycle groups, as well as some landscapes.

So, any leads? Any suggestions?

And yes, I realize that a hi-res digital camera, a pano head, and a stitching

program would in many ways equal the Cirkut. But I like the idea of a Cirkut,

and I think that for the audience I'm shooting for (vintage car and bike

enthusiasts), the Cirkut would be a draw and a help, and possibly a trip down

memory lane.

I'm fairly confident (though I could be wrong) that I have the mechanical

ability to run one, and to process the negs and the prints. I already process

4x5 stuff, and contact-print it. And my day job is mechanical design, with a

lot of hands-on experience; plus some time spent as a portrait photog.

Thanks in advance, for any leads..!

Doug Grosjean, NW Ohio

I'd look on the panoramic photography sites. There's an associaton of Cirkut photographers as well. And Douglas Chadwick does, or did, group portraits of vintage race cars with a Cirkut. I have several of his prints that I bought 10+ years ago at Watkins Glen- from the inscription on the prints he's in Hillsboro WV.

Hi all,

Thanks for all the replies and kind words. I've got some other feelers out now, including to Ron Klein, Kenneth Snelson, and a couple others, so will see what happens.

The one in a living room was a #8. I asked around about that unit, as a matter of fact. A Cirkut photog advised me to hold out for a #10 if possible, as film is easier to get for the #10. So I took his advice.

The old car / old bike idea is a bit of serendipity. Photos I've taken that people have raved about (and bought) have usually been those subjects. My background is mechanical design, strong in cars and motorcycles, so... you do what sells, and what people like.