which telephoto lens for nikon D 70s

ajay_ukidve1

Hi all!

I have the 70-300 VR and I found it excellent for wild life Photography. How

ever during my forays to wild life reserves I found that I am falling short for

birds. The birds are essentially on trees etc which I encounter. I am

contemplating whether I should go in for the nikon 80-4oo or the bigma Sigma 50-

500. I have a nikon D70s which I might upgrade to a D200 if prices do fall a

bit after the intro of the D300. For the present my budget is USD 800 and the

sigma goes to around 900 USD at sigma 4 less. TC's do not work with the Nikon

70-300 VR as I gather from this forum. What would you recommend. The present

bag of lenses I have is: Nikon 18-55, 18-135, Sigma 10-20mm, Sigma 30/1.4,

Nikon 70-300 VR. I have put a bird to give an idea what is in my mind. I do not

print photos but use an LCD projector for slide shows. I am not a pro but an

amateur hobbyist. Thamks in advance.

Ajay

In addition to the "Bigma" (50-500mm), you might also want to look at the soon-to-be-available Sigma 150-500mm OS. Rumored price will be under $1000, so it sounds like it will be similar to the Bigma. The stabilization should be a help, and the 3:1 zoom-ration should improve image quality.

I have the 80-400. Pretty good lens ... but not "incredible". And it also still falls short in focal length for birds ...

Maybe you could rent the Sigma for a weekend from your local pro shop and see how it works out for you before making the investment.

good luck,

michael.

Nice photo. For better separation from the background branches, you might want to look at the fixed focal length, 300mm f/4 from Nikon. Then to overcome your crop, you might add the TC-14e, which will autofocus with the AF-S version of the 300mm only. Used, this will be slightly more than your budget, but it's worth considering. Anything bigger might be too big or heavy to lug around.