Mirror lenses--revisited

marosari00

Hola Manuel!

Wow, I remember reading this article many months ago, which got me looking for a mirror lens (which I recently purchased). The thing is, at the time I didn't realise it was written by Herbert Keppler; I'm not sure I even knew who he was back then! Thanks for the link, Manuel.

One thing Mr Keppler didn't talk about is the Pentax 400-600mm mirror. This Pentax mirror also does zoom, small/lightweight and has good contrast (rare for mirror). I could just see mirror coming back when good ISO6400 is the norm for all DSLR (ie: Nikon's D3).

Hi all. I am a newbie with a 500mm mirror that I bought 16 years ago, and then basically didn't touch until last year. I enjoy it now on my K100D, and despite struggling with manual focus and shallow dof, I would not part with it unless I somehow "inherited/acquired" something in the same or longer focal length. This was a shot I took with it yesterday.<div>00OjT2-42183884.jpg.a56dc76c2673b7645bbc0d8625baf7f8.jpg</div>

Thanks Miserere. It's a sharp enough pic, but I have a folder of blurred shots as well! My eyes are not what they used to be either.

Too true about the weight advantage of the mirror lens, and I am sure that only with experience of something big and heavy will I really appreciate it! But I do long for something faster. I am a fairly large guy (6ft 8in, 250lbs) so I like to think the weight wouldn't be too much of an issue.

But thinking about coping with the weight when the cost of fast tele glass is beyond me, is like imagining taking the ultimate wildlife shot while dozing in my armchair - something else I too often do!

Here is another shot with it, high iso, fast shutter because of the iso/bright sunlight, trying to catch some action, cropped to square.<div>00OjcH-42187284.jpg.281d73d0c1a3e313e131278a481193e3.jpg</div>