I am a wedding photographer who has a passion to learn studio portraiture. It

is alot harder than I imagined. Loop lighting, Rembrandt, etc. It's a little

overwhelming. I just think you have to just dive in and experiment. So I bought

myself 3 Alien Bee 1600's, two 24x36 softboxes, 1 40" umbrella, and a few

backdrops. I previously went to a studio where I live and tried a few test

shots on my own. They came out OK. But since I got my own setup I am hooked and

trying new things. I love split lighting so I did a shot of my daughter and I

wanted to get your opinion.

I like the picture in general, but don't like the entirely missing half of her face. I think even a bit of reflected fill there would help gain some detail and shape, which you could then push back down into the shadows if you wanted. That way it wouldn't be just a black hole on that side, and you'd see the basic shape and features, but it would still have the same type of impact.