Dad gave me a nice table-top set-up with two side photoflood lights. I have a

couple of fiber optical lights as well, and lots of Speedlite 300TLs. And I

have a large south-facing sliding glass door several feet (about a meter and a

half) away. The natural light gives a nice vertical highlight on a vertically

standing lens that has a soft quality about it. The reflection in the lens

glass is important. Is the thousand lights reflection attractive or a flat

overhead reflector giving an even light-fill to the lens more successful? I

will be using a T90, probably Provia 100F, and as much enthusiasm I can

muster. Your comments are seriously appreciated!

I'm planning on taking field pictures of my super-telephoto lenses, but

perhaps someone has the opinion that all lens shots should be taken mounted on

a camera in the field. I want exciting, dynamic lens pictures!

Cheers,

Craig

Hi,

I am a former pro advertising studio photog. These days just an amateur and shoot lenses all the time for ebay. You really do not need lights of any sort.

I use a daylight table top 'studio'. Small 2x3 foot table resting on south facing window sill, with adjustable legs on one side. Long very pale cream thin card background (from stationers) approx 2 feet wide and 4 feet-ish long. Rested on table top and curled up at one end to form a no-shadow background...kept vertical with an old lighting stand to tape it to.

A fill-in piece of white card approx 2x1 foot opposite the window, on the long side of the table top, clamped to another old lighting stand..this is moved back and forth to adjust the amount of fill for the shadow side. I shoot lengthways, or at a slight angle, with lenses at a 45 degree angle (approx) to the window. You then get a nice highlight the length of the lens, with the white card to fill shadows.