EXPOSURE METER

Tower was a trade name of Sears Roebuck & Co who sold cameras and accessories made by others. They did not make cameras themselves. Your Tower meter might be a US made selenium shoe mount meter with an ASA range of 10-200 or a West German made meter. Unfortunately like most meters even in fully working condition they do not fetch much.

I was so glad to see this thread! I bought an old Weston light meter at an antique shop a while back. I'm just getting into photography with vintage 35mm cameras (I was using mostly digital before). So when I saw the meter, I thought it would come in handy. I tested the meter in the shop, just to see if it responded to light, although I had no idea how to use it. The needle moved when I brought it near a lamp. I've also tested it outside during sunny and on cloudy days, and it seems to respond. I think I just figured out how to use it today. On a cloudy day at about 2:00pm, I faced it north and the needle was showing about 50-100...although I don't know what that measurement indicates. I think I finally figured out the exposure calculator, and with that measurement from the needle, it was showing I could use a shutter speed of 1/125 at f8 or f11 for 200 ISO film. Does that sound about right? Do guys think the meter is working right?

I'll have to test it again, because I might not be remembering the numbers exactly right. I'm not at home right now and I don't have the meter with me. But how are Weston meters...do they usually stay fairly accurate? I have no idea how old this one is.

Don..."cloudy" as in it's been raining most of the week, and it was drizzling today. :)

It was a day I normally wouldn't even bother trying to take pictures. But I just wanted to test the meter, since I thought I had figured out how it worked. I just noticed there's a manual for my meter on Mike Butkus' website. The meter is a Weston Master III. I'm downloading it right now. I'll definitely send him a donation! That was a big help.