Leica R on Olympus E3

canfred

Hi Olympus users , I have a question if anyone here uses Leica R lenses on the

new E3 could you please give me some info as to suitability.

I would like to use the Elmar R 21-35 also the Elmarit 100 The Apo Elmarit 180

and a Apo Telyt 280 f4 I also have the 2x Apo extender.

I do know the 100 will work and I am aware it will be near 200mm long.

I have the Olympus E3 in my sight , the photos I seen taken with this camera

are superb , plus a very well made unit it sure is.

Apart from a few tests with Canon I have no experience with digital , the 21-35

Elmar can not be used on the Canon 5D.

Thank you Manfred

I would look at the 5D again. The Olympus sensor is half the size of Canon`s sensor. As with film, size matters and is the deciding factor in quality more than anything else. The small sensor will crop off half the Leica lens image. In that case, you will get the equivalent of a 42/70 lens, 200,360,560.

If you really want OLy, then buy the best grade of Oly lens, and there are three grades. The adapter solution is not really good with Canon as you lose metering, auto diaphragm, auto focus, and a DECENT way to manual focus. Like going back to 1955.

My advice is to continue with film and the superb lenses on the R body and wait for Leicas digi R. It is coming.

Either that or buy into a Canon or Nikon system with their lenses. Canon wides are not that good, so maybe Nikon should be the choice.

D3 full frame camera, 14/24 24/70, 70/210. $10,000.

Another possibility is Canon with a 21 4.0 Leica R, Canon 50, and your teles.

Faced with the same situation, my Leica R glass is in storage except for when I use film, and I got a Nikon D200. It works until Leica introduces the Digi R.

If you want a smaller system, Oly will good prints 8x10 and smaller as will Leicas similar 4/3. Then get the Leica 25 1.4.