10D to 5D - ISO-for-ISO comparison?

john clark

Hi folks.

I have a 10D which is now approaching its fifth birthday - it has served me well

but I have always missed the wider angle stuff, and being non-EF-S compatible my

only choice is full-frame wide-angles which become somewhat normal. I use a

17-40/4L, a 50/1.4, an 85/1.8 and a 100/2.8 Macro. Rarely need anything longer.

Oh, I have just added a 430EX flash too, which I'm still learning.

I would like to get a 5D but as I shoot a fair amount indoors, or in poorer

lighting conditions, I want to know that noise is going to be low, or if it's

there, it has to be 'good looking noise' (cf. film-grain).

Specifically, I find the 10D's noise to start to become slightly intrusive at

ISO 800. I can see hints of noise at 400, and 100 & 200 are effectively noise-free.

How would a 5D compare? Is its ISO 800 cleaner than 400? 200? on the 10D. What

about ISO 1600 - cleaner than 800? 400?

I've not found anything comparing them directly.

Thanks,

John

They look good, Radu, but as they're not full size images I can't tell what the noise is like. I know for a fact that had you used my 10D for those shots, the noise would be apparent even at the small Flickr size, but it doesn't quite answer my question. Thanks for the response though!

You do realise that the Tokina 12-24, Sigma 10-20 and Tamron 11-18 all work with your 10D? Then of course there are also Sigma's 12-24 and 15-30 full frame lenses. There is no need to feel constrained to 17mm at the wide end with a 10D.

Are you sure. Mark? Remember that the 10D doesn't work with EF-S (crop factor) lenses.

In any event, I would quite like the full-frame sensor of the 5D to make the best use of my existing lenses, rather than adding more lenses. I know buying a cheaper third-party zoom and a current crop-factor body probably works out cheaper than a 5D body but I'd quite like some kind of parity in effective focal length with my wife's EOS 3...