I am a photographer who was just asked to do some basic architectural

photography for a new building. I finally have a OK cash flow to invest in a

decent tripod so I've been reading up on it, but all the articles I've read on

here are pretty dated (1996! whoa!) so I wanted to step into the forums and ask

for some advice!

I own a canon 40D which has a little weight to it, and I have telephoto lenses

so I know I'll need a tripod that can support weight without wobbling. Also, I

need it to be light enough that I can carry it around with me. I like to park &

wander to take pictures, so being able to walk with it is vital.

I've read a lot about the gitzo & bogen lines, are they still the best? Is there

another brand that would fit my needs better? Any advice would be appreciated, I

feel like the more I read on it the more indecisive I am on what to buy.

If you are really serious about getting a good tripod, you will need to spend AT LEAST $400. And, I would pay more attention to the head, and to get a good one, you'll have to spend $250 or more. My friend and I both use the Acratech Ultimate, and we both love it. Other good ones are from Kirk, Really Right Stuff, Arca Swiss.

Most photographers eventually end up with a ball head. You can get something pretty sturdy for not that much money in a 3-way head. But, ball heads are just too easy to use to not have one.

You can get pretty good aluminum tripods from just a bit over $100. Gitzo is Rolls Royce. Bogen is BMW.

If you are tall, or if you will be placing the tripod on low ground while you stand on high ground (tripod in the river, you on a rock), look for something that extends to well over 5' WITHOUT THE CENTER COLUMN.

If you want something compact, look for 4 leg sections instead of just 3.

If you will need to put your camera into odd positions, look for a center column that can be turned horizontal.