mike_doyle2

Hi, Picking up from another thread, I have no experience of using Pocket

Wizard's and wish to seek the advice of anyone who could offer me an answer to

my question. I am at present using a Nikon D200 with an SB800 flashgun with a

stroboframe T Pro bracket, the Camera and Flash are attached by an SC 29 lead,

and though I find the combination works really well with most situations I

encounter in my varied work, I often wish I did not forever have to make sure

the lead was not getting tangled up with the constant changes from portrait to

landscape format requiring me to swing the flash into the appropriate position.

Could I fix the Pocket Wizard in the hot shoe of the D200 and dispense with

the SC 29 lead altogether? And if the answer is yes, how does this combination

work? I look forward to your informed answers as usual, regards

Mike

It would work, but I think I've found something better than the Pocket Wizard. Those are fairly big in size. I've been using the new Elinchrom Skyports on my D80. They are tiny! They have a 400 ft. range. The sending unit attaches very neatly into your camera's hotshoe, and the very small receiver I just velcro to the side of the flash. Note that you have no TTL with a radio slave though. You adjust flash output manually with all of them. It has been 100% reliable for me though.

Kent in SD

Kent's point is the most important one: you're going to lose all of the sophisticated communication between the camera and the strobe. You could regain much of that by jusing the D200's pop-up as a commander for the SB-800 in CLS slave mode, but that introduces some shutter release lag time, and can make people blink.

The Pocketwizard has a wired foot that works in an hot shoe. The SB-800 has a PC port on the side from which the flash will fire if attached to the PW with the proper adapter cable (3mm phone plug to PC).