New Lens or New Body?

marcus_andrewes

Hi

I have a D200, a Nikkor 17-55 2.8 DX and a Nikkor 70-200 VR 2.8.

I work as a general photographer doing advertising stuff for local businesses, event coverage, travel

photography and I also run photo tours around New Zealand.

In January I am going to Canada and will be spending some time (a week) in the Rockies with a

professional guide taking wildlife photos.

Wildlife and sports are personal interests and the wildlife part often plays a part in the tours (we can get

up close to seals and penguins). Neither have so far proved very commercial but I would quite like them to

over time.

To shoot effectively in Canada, I need serious reach and have been offered a good price on a new Nikkor

200-400 VR. Although it is a good price it is still very expensive.

Whilst I can physically afford it (and of course can put it through my business) I could buy a lot of other

stuff for the money - eg a D300 or even D3 as a second body which would save on lens changes in the

field.

I am torn between the options! I don't think I would regret owning the 200-400 but neither do I think it

would be used weekly. Of course it would last at least 10 years and any body they make between now and

then will work with it.

Any ideas?!

Marcus, only you know the answer.

Find a pen and paper, write down the advantages of D300/D3 over your D200, cost of body spread over 2 to 5 years (minus your selling price in eBay), advantages of 200-400, cost of lens spread over 10 years (minus your selling price in eBay), what you miss without D300/D3, what you miss without 200-400, ... Then review your list of pro and con for several days or weeks, then make your decision.