Command Event Critique Request

michaelbonner

Hey, everyone

<p>

I've been shooting for about three months now, after the purchase of my Canon EOS 350D (Rebel XT).

While most of my photos are for personal/artistic ends, I've managed to become the official

photographer for my command (I'm currently on active duty in the US Navy). As such, I've had the

opportunity to photograph several events, from awards ceremonies, to retirements, to action on the

flight deck on an aircraft carrier. I've posted photographs from my latest event, a command picnic that

ended up in a bowling alley here: <a href="http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=777538"

>http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=777538</a>. What I'm looking for is an honest

assessment of what I'm doing well, and especially where I need to improve, and whether or not I should

consider looking for work in this field. (Note: I know there are some issues with these photos in terms

of non-uniform color-casts and slight subject underexposures, but those are easily correctable, so I'm

looking for more detailed critiques)

<p>

I'd consider myself an advanced amateur- I've got a pretty good grasp of leveraging manual modes to

make the best of available light, can probably hold my own in a technical discussion, and am fairly

confident using Photoshop to improve my images (Curves, Levels, layer masks, and so forth). My

biggest technical gap would be my inexperience with flash (I've had a 430EX for a few days now) My

current equipment set-up is:

<p>

Canon EOS 350D<p>

Tamron 17-50 f/2.8<p>

Canon 70-200mm f2.8<p>

Canon 430EX Speedlight<p>

Velbon tripod w/ball & socket (though I mostly shoot handheld)<p>

RC-1 Remote Trigger<p>

Silver/White reflector<p>

<p> <p>

Thank you so much for your time, and for putting up with this long-winded post.

<p>

Sincerely,

<p>

Michael Bonner

Michael, I mostly wanted to pop in to say, thank you for your service.