Converting RAW into JPEG or TIFF

sai

I started shooting RAW and I love it! But now I want to share my pictures via

web and store them in my PC.

I was playing withthe software provided with my EOS 350D (Zoombrowser) and after

having developed the RAw file I saved it like a high resolution JPEG a 8 bit

TIFF and a 16 bit TIFF. I can't see any difference in quality from the 3

copies, other than the size of the file (8MB, 25MB and 45MB respectively). I

read Bob's article on the subject, but still I wanted to ask. What do you do? Do

you save them into 16bit TIFF work on them on PS and then turn them into 8bit

TIFF? Is high quality JPEG enough? I don't think I can store thousands of 45MB

pictures! Do you keep the RAW files? (I'm guessing OF COURSE!)

thanks

Ronald, what do you mean the "last xxx.psd which is uncompressed and unsharpened"?

Also, how and where do you keep all those files? I mean there is no PC that can hold all that, right? DVD back ups?

here is a Photoshop Workflow:<br><br>

1. Convert files to DNG using Adobe's DNG converter (rename at the same time). Save these DNG files to CD/DVD - these are your negatives/untouched masters. <br>

2. You can now delete the RAWs - once you have checked your backup.<br>

3. If you have CS2+, use Bridge to view these DNGs and rank them (to select the bad from the good, choose those you wish to work on).<br>

4. Delete the low ranking DNGs you don't want to work with (you have them on DVD)<br>

5. Use ACR and PS to work the file. For the best ones work in 16 bit (at least for gross changes), then when you are close (before sharpening), convert to 8 bit and save the unflattened PSD file (learn to use adjustment layers).<br>

6. Decide on your print sizes from the PSD, flatten, crop, final colour manage, sharpen to suit the print size, save to high quality 8 bit JPEG. - These are your print masters.<br>

7. Print and check the quality, repeat step 6 if necessary to get it right.<br>

<br>