I'm a newbie, how am I doing?

kevin_swan1

I've been second-shooting with a local pro this summer, and I hope to branch out

on my own next year. I was hoping to get some feedback from the readers here,

to help me learn what I should be focusing on to improve my photos. Here's a

link to some of my photos from a wedding I shot last weekend:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1243319&id=901905564

Please take a look and let me know if I'm on the right track, and how I can

improve. If you think my shots are terrible and I have no hope of making it as

a pro, please feel free to tell me that, too! :)<div>00MYlt-38508984.jpg.71191161dbd520c4d5bdaf224eeb6491.jpg</div>

Hey Kevin

The quality looks questionable on my display, hard to know if it is how you posted them on facebook or if they are all sort of out of focus.

Ok for second shooting approaches but not no much snap to the images. I like the one of the groomsman and the boy, sweet candid.

One suggestion I would have is that you need to sort out a point of view of what you are trying to capture. Are you looking only for casual moments or more of the central story line? Also the realtionship between you and the subject seems all the same to me.

Not bad for a start but keep looking!

Brooke

Brooke, the "focus" thing could be my fault. Part of my PP is to "soften" the photos a bit. I duplicate the layer, apply a gaussian blur of 20 or 30 pixels, then drop the blur layer's opacity to 30% or so. I erase holes in this layer with a soft brush so key features (eyes, hands, bouquets) remain sharp. But maybe I'm overdoing this effect?