Digital holiday

I've been shooting with Nikon DSLRs for a few years now

( Steve Harris) and I really enjoy it, but I find

that I'm nostalgic for the good(?) old days of rangefinder and film. Though by

contrast I don't miss film SLRs at all.

I last shot with a rangefinder 15 years ago or so. I'm contemplating buying a

Leica, as I've always wanted one, but could never afford it.

What worries me though is that I'll spend a thousand or two pounds on something

pretty, then it will sit on a shelf gathering dust. Is there anyone else here

that's done the same thing thing, and do you find that you use the film camera much?

I live in London, so there's a reasonable selection of shops that sell Leica

gear near me, but what would be the best single body+lens combination that won't

break the bank or be too hard to find. I'm thinking M6 + a 35mm lens of some

kind, but advice welcome. Do I have to be careful about buying a pup? I've no

idea how you check rangefinder mechanisms for focusing accuracy and so on.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Not that Leica is a bad choice, but if you just want a good rangefinder to shoot some film

with and get a feel for it, something like a Bessa R2a with a 35mm or 50mm lens would be a

good choice. Voigtlander lenses tend to be very good and I doubt they will disappoint you. If

you knew you wanted to get a rangefinder and planned to use it, I would say get a Leica and

be done with it, but if you just want something to get a feel for it again, it's hard to go wrong

with a voigtlander. If you decide you like it, you can always move to a Leica if you feel the

need.

In London you should be able to rent a Leica for a few days. If you decide to by, you can probably get your money back for the rental -- if not, you've saved a bundle!<P>As you mentioned, I'd agree that a M6 with 35mm Summicron is the best starting combination.