17-85 EF-S

kev_400d

Hi,

This is my first post so apologies if it's in the wrong place...

I'm looking at buying my first "proper" camera.

I've decided on the 400D (Rebel XTi to those over the pond).

But am being indecisive on lenses.

Was going to get a Mega zoom Sigma 28-300 but online research told me this

wasn't a good idea.

Now I'm looking at getting

17-85 EF-S and the 50/1.8

and saving for the 70-200 F4L

My question is:

Is the 17-85 EF-S any good?

I want to do a range of Landscape / Portrait / Event photography.

Also, is there a cheap / good prime that I could use for wildlife / candid

shots until I can save the ?400 that the L Zoom?

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

I have the 17-85. Given the range and IS, you can't beat it for versatility. It has a nice, solid feel -- a little nose-heavy on my DReb, but nothing to worry about. I find image quality more than satisfactory, though I'm no expert. It does a fine portrait, IMO, but for shallow depth of field a logical next purchase would be a fast prime -- the 50 1.4 or 1.8. If you're interested in wildlife, I'd say you'd be better off with the 70-300IS than with the 70-200. (And the 100-400 -- or just the plain old 400 5.6 -- would be better still. Critters are always farther away than you'd like.) "Is there a cheap / good prime that I could use for wildlife / candid shots until I can save" for the zoom? Probably not.

<p>I had the EFS 17-85mm for a year or so, and I ended up feeling that it had it pluses

and minuses. For some people it can be exactly the right lens, for others perhaps not.

<p>Pluses:

<ul>

<li>Relatively inexpensive.</li>

<li>17-85mm is a very useful focal length range for many photographers - it can be an

"only lens" solution for many.</li>

<li>Image stabilization lets you shoot without a tripod in lower light conditions than you

might expect as long as subject motion is not an issue.