New to importing in Lightroom-where to store?

I'm new to Lightroom 1.1, and have a few questions.

I have a couple of empty hard drives I can use for back-up.

I also have a drive that is loaded with images.

Should I use one empty drive for the LR files, one empty drive for LR back-

up? Or should I use my exsisting populated drive for the imitial LR reading

of the images, and an empty one for back-up?

If I understand it correctly, I need to have LR read my old files once to

build some kind of information file on it. Does that file have to reside on

the same disk? Any advantage to it on the same disk? Confused.

I want to make sure I do this right before reading all the image info on the

drive.

I do have my stuff BU to DVD.

Thanks!

LR 1.1 is built around catalog concept. In order to use a photo with Lightroom, you need to import it into a catalog. You can import them in place, or you can have Lightroom move them to a new location on import.

You can also create more than one catalog. for instance, you could separate your personal photos into one catalog and your commercial photos into another. Again, because you can import the photos in place, the photos would not move from their current location. So theoretically, two photos could physically reside right next to each other in your current folder structure and each would logically reside in different LR catalogs. And each could ONLY be used when you are working in its LR catalog.

Since I have a file structure already in existence that I like to use. I imported the photos in place. And going forward, I offload the photos from my camera media with a 3rd party utility into that file structure. Then I import those photos in place.

I also use a 3rd party BU to DVD. LRs back up functions seem kind of primitive to me. Back-ups are never a bad thing!