dave_f2

I am just getting started in photography and I want to do some early morning

landscapes with my FE2. Of course I will need a tripod for this. I know I want

to find something sturdy, but I am also on a budget. Do I just want into an

electronics store and buy this moderately priced? What kind of material should

I look out for?

thanks,

dave

I am supposed to tell you that I am a photo dealer when I recommend something. The best tripods & heads for a low budget photographer are made by Giotto. You should be able to find something ok with a head for around $200. Stay away from the junk they make for amateurs, it can be really bad.

Wood and carbon fiber are best. Thin aluminum tubing like Bogen are worst. The more joints in the legs, the more prone to vibration.

If you don`t believe me, put a camera on one and tap it. Watch the vibration. Test on a solid floor.

Buy one tall enough you do not need to extend the center column which makes for more unsturdyness.

The heaver the better within each catagory of wood, CF, and AL. The leavier it is, the less you will want to use it.

The sturdier it is, the more it costs.

Gitzo is overall the best line. Handle them, work the leg locks, check for sturdyness on a solid floor, no carpet.

I use a Gitzo 1227 CF leg set with Leica ball head for 35mm. Berlebach wood for 4x5. Has two section legs and built in ball type leveling head, no center column. Most times the 4x5 just goes on the leveling head. For absolute precision, I add a Manfrotto/Bogen gear driven head. It then weighs 20 lb, and you can`t go too far with it.

Wrap bicycle handlebar tape on the top sections of Al or CF if you work outside at less than 40 deg. A model with foot spikes is nice for outside specially on ice or snow. The wife will not appreciate this feature, so get retractable ones or ones that cover like Gitzo.