Problem With Scanning in High-Resolution

I am new to film scanning and have run into a problem. I just bought a Nikon

Coolscan VED 4000 and am scanning negatives. However, there are two problems.

First, after scanning (via Vuescan) the image opens up automatically in the

built-in Microsoft photoeditor. But when I scan at the highest resolutions, that

software tells me that it cannot open the file because it's too large. Thus, I

cannot view or save my high-resolution files. How do I correct this? Do I have

to disable the awful Microsoft editor?

Second, the resolution doesn't seem to be what I though it would be at the

medium resolutions (1000-2000 dpi). The files are only about 300-500kb. Is this

normal? What should I expect?

Any help would be appreciated.

I don't use Vuescan, but I'm guessing that there is a setting somewhere in there that can help you get away from opening in MS photo. However, it also may be that it's just opening in the application associated with the file format. Whatever format you're scanning to, change that association to your editor of choice. (You can do this from any folder under Tools: Options: File Types.)

Next, I'm not sure why you'd scan at less than full resolution unless you KNEW that you'd NEVER want to use that picture for anything larger. Also, if it's saving at 500k, it's probably writing jpegs. So first, save to TIFF or some other non-compressed format. A full-resolution scan of a 35mm slide/neg from the Coolscan V will be ~55Mb at 8 bit and ~110Mb at 16-bit.

You should change the default program used to open image filed. Go to "Microsoft Explorer/Tools/Folder Options/File Type", look up various file image extensions and change the program which opens them - e.g., Photoshop, if you have it.