top lenses to choose for nikon d80 price not an issue..!

vincent_daly

Hello fellow photography enthusiasts.

I'm new to this hobby,recently bought nikon d80 with 18-135 kit lens.

Am bit confused with the amount of choice on which additional lens/lenses to

buy.

Was thinking of 1, 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S VR DX Zoom-Nikkor (mainly

due to great reviews)great all rounder by all accounts and should save on lens

changes

2, 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor (or f/1.4) ?

3, Not sure of third choice ???

any advice would be greatly appreciated, will be using camera for portraits,

holiday snaps ,architecture ,landscape etc.

please feel free to disagree with my selections so far. will be looking for 3

more lenses to add to my kit to cover most scenarios. don't worry about

price..would like lenses to have af option to make use of this fantastic slr's

options.thanking you in advance. Vincent daly dublin Ireland

Vincent, I have owned 30 different Nikon lenses over the years but none of those you mentioned. I can tell you which lenses I like, but most likely it'll have little to do with your type of photography.

I suggest you use your current 18-135mm zoom for a few weeks and determine for yourself what is missing; it could be a super wide, long tele, macro, a fast f1.4/1.8 lens .... Only you can decide what works for you. There is no one lens that everybody must get. For example, I have never owned any 50mm Nikon lens in 30 years.

"Only you can decide what works for you."

Shun

Thanks for your reply. it's exciting for me having so much to learn about photography. just thought there were some good all rounders to cover most situations. am not talking of big zoom lens for sports or fisheye type lens. i will do as you say before splashing out any more money. thanks again.

Nikkor 500/4

Nikkor 200-400/4 VR

Nikkor 200/2 VR

Nikkor 200/4 micro (AF, ED version)

Nikkor 70-200/2.8 VR (a great do everything lens)

Nikkor 105/2 DC (portraiture)

Nikkor 85/1.4 (sports)