Old negatives - resolution question

I am trying to plan out how I am going to scan in lot old black and white

negatives - mostly 616 and 620 film (40+ years old). This is for archival

purposes, so I want to capture as much of the image from the negative as

practical. It will be up to the user of the image to manipulate (sharpen etc)

according to what they want to print.

VueScan is definitely helping me pick up more detail from the negatives than the

scan HP software supplied with the HP 4890 scanner, but I am still new to this

process and would appreciate some advice.

Is there a reliable way to test whether a higher resolution is worth it? I can

pick out greater detail at 600 over 300 dpi, but my untrained eye cannot detect

any additional detail in a 1200 over a 600 dpi scan from these negatives.

Is it generally worth scanning at the next step up anyway? (Just to provide

additional data for sharpen and similar processes.) Or is such additional data

a waste of space and time?

Thoughts, comments, ideas?

TIA

Your eye may not be able to pick it up looking at the scan on a monitor, but have you looked at a print from this. I would give the end-user as much resolution as you can stomach storage- and handling-wise. I typically scan 120 negatives at 2400 ppi, which allows me to print out to 10" x 10" with no problems.

The resolution you get is probably limited by your scanner. You need to scan using a film scanner to see if it gets more information than the scanner you are using. Scan at the maximul optical resulution of the scanner, some scanners will rez up the pixels but this does not add any information to the image. I use a Nikon 9000, which has an optical resulution of 4000 pixels per inch and scans from it have more information that is available from a flatbed scanner at 1200 pixels per inch.

Thank you for your responses.