Fuji S5 excellent at ISO 3200

ned1

I got my S5 just a few hours ago and have shot some test images at ISO 3200.

WOW! I shot them both raw and jpg. You can see the jpg images here:

http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder?folder_id=703531

For the second and third images I applied Photoshop's "Shadow/Highlight" to

bring out the shadows. This usually produces insane noise. Remember also that

this is JPG.

The last image is a 2x version of the shadow/highlight version.

I repeat: WOW! Tomorrow I will post a RAW image.

No question, if I was starting over I would go Canon, but for those of us who've invested heavily in Nikon lenses the Fuji puts us in the same ballpark.

The S5 runs about $800 less than the D5, has an extra stop of latitude, but half the pixels. The wide latitude has been a life-saver with my S3, and I can shoot jpgs with confidence, but the pixel count means it wouldn't be suitable for magazine or catalog work. I'm a wedding photographer and it's fine for my purposes.

An ISO 3200 image shot in good light will have less noise than a 3200 shot in the dark.

Looks like your images could've been shot at ISO 800 while still mainatining a reasonable shutter speed. I once forgot to change my ISO and made a few shots in daylight. Very low noise - but so what? There'll lots more noise if the ISO 3200 is really necessary.

I'm afraid your test proves nothing.

The picture with the china dog was taken in a dimly lit room. It only looks bright because I was able to get a good histogram shooting at 3200. Trust me, it would have looked like crap at 800.

Also, the test image is NOT a window shot. The window looks into a closed porch on an overcast day. Again, it only looks like a direct window shot because the camera is so clear at low light levels.

Congratulations on your new purchase.