Advice on Crazy Thought

I'm a teacher in a small school without a darkroom, but with strong support for

photography. There's nowhere to put a darkroom, but with the creep towards

digital, there's little sense in trying to get funds to build one.

I had a crazy thought:

I could offer a class that could would use film cameras (K1000s and the like) to

take pictures (black & white), develop them normally, scan them, and do

photoshop manipulation. I've never used a dedicated film scanner, so I'm not

familiar with workflow and time demands. The class would probably have a maximum

size of about 15 students.

Students could do low DPI scans then rescan for images they really like later.

This could allow me to force students to learn about things like exposure,

shutter speed, aperture, depth of field, while avoiding digital cameras AND

allow me to teach students about "digital darkroom" work. Images don't need to

be printed for students to assess them.

If people could answer all or any of the following questions, I'd be appreciative.

How long does it take to scan a strip of 5 or 6 negatives at 1200 DPI?

Is it easy to get 'usable' scans with negligible knowledge of photography.

Are film scanners durable?

Are used or low-end film scanners a worthwhile purchase?

How much does injet printing cost?

Does this whole idea seem feasible?

Thanks,

Neal

I don't see the point of teaching the art of scanning as it is quite involved to get decent scans, probably a dying art, scanners are not particularly robust, are slow (up to several minutes per frame), etc. I scan film and don't own a digital camera, by the way.

Get some bargain bin 3 megapixel digitals and teach composition and post-processing instead.

The most difficult part in scanning negatives is the color cast. But since you are shooting black and white that shouldn't be a big problem.

But, there isn't much you can do with Photoshop with black and white images.