Can an alien bees 1600 be too strong for some situations?

dennis osipiak

Numerous lighting posts have the same reply..buy as much power as you can

initially afford. Just to be clear..since AB and other units can be dialed down

to 1/32 power etc, is it reasonable to assume that in a smaller setting

(smaller room..say at a house etc) that the AB 1600 won't present a problem with

being too strong? ( I know that ISO and f-stop factor into this but I still

want to ask the question.

Dennis

Well, I'm still new at lighting but I myself own one of these and have had to use a ND filter before on my 50/1.4 when opened up to 2.8. I like to have the main light close to get the catchlight a little bigger. Other than that no other problems shooting at f4 or above.

Good luck and maybe someone will chime in and help you out a little more than myself.

Well, I'm sitting around this evening shooting some jewelry, and I'm using two AB800s. The situation seems to call for a pretty wide open lens, and here I am with a 50mm at f2.8 (for DOF reasons)... and both AB800s have to be shut all the way down to the lowest end of their range in order to not blow things out (and I'm at ISO 100!). Some light modification helps even more (in my case, a softbox on one light, and a honeycomb on the other) ... but they are pretty damn bright. I suppose some neutral denisity gels would be another way to deal with that. So, you're asking a very good question. If you'll be shooting with a lens closed up a bit more, you're in good shape... and I can't make an 800 as bright as a 1600 if I need it.

I got two 800s to see how I liked them, knowing I'd get at least one more light before long. Probably it will be a 1600 next for bigger work, followed by a 400 later for fill work, etc. It will be interesting to see what else you hear.

Denis,