Your insite on these please:Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8

mike w

I'm sure this has been discussed before but I cant find it if it has.

I would like to upgrade to some faster lenses for nature photography, birds and

the like I'm not a pro but I am serous about my pictures.

I'm looking to get a 300 2.8 but first I'd like to here some opinions on these

two. Also using them with 1.4 and 2x teleconverters

Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG APO IF HSM

NIKON 300mm 2.8 D lens, AF-S

I'm also considering a 400 2.8 in the future. with the teleconverters as well.

My thinking is 2.8 with the tele's will be more versatile than a 500 or 600 f4.

Thanks for your help with my ramblings

Mike

oh yea I use a D-100 for now will upgrade that later too.

OK I have been raving about the 120-300 for a while so here is my take on it, I'm a sports photographer not a bird guy so my take is from another angle but this may help.

This is one of only two Sigmas I currently own the other is a 10-20.

Pros:

1/ Build is excellent

2/ HSM is really quick on D2H & X and pretty good on the D200.

3/ Image quality is first rate

4/ Team it with the Sigma APO 1.4 and it works really well, haven't tried it with any other convertors or the 2x.

5/ You can hand hold but not for too long, I've been pretty sick so I only use it with a mono now until I get my stregth back.

6/ Sharp at 2.8 but really nice from f4

7/ Price, I think it goes for around $2200us I paid nearly $4000AU for mine. You won't find a cheaper 300 2.8.

8/ IT'S A 300 2.8 THAT YOU CAN ZOOM there is nothing really in this class to compare against, baring maybe the 200-400 nikor(no comparison right).

9/ bokeh is nice and silky

Cons

1/ make sure you get the DG version or you'll be handing over another $150 or so to get the ts41 foot as the older one is hopeless. (too close)

2/ No rear drop in filter which means mega bucks buying 105mm filters I think the Sigma UV starts at about $150 and the big brands are even more.