Karen's Replicator for Mac?

I recently purchased a MacBook Pro. I've got 2 external drives that I store my

photos on. In the PC world, I would work on one drive regularly and

intermittently turn on the second drive, run Karen's replicator to copy all of

the files from the primary to the backup, and then turn off the backup.

I would like to do something similar in the OSX environment. I've briefly

looked at an Automator action to backup one folder to another, but in a quick

test it seemed to run very slowly. Are there other automator actions that do

what I want? Is there an easy way to make my own? (I'm a web developer familiar

with ASP/ASP.NET in VB, JavaScript & C#, so I'm no afraid to learn a new

language if someone can provide a decent reference.)

Am I best off just writing a shell script? My ideal scenario would be to work

off of my primary drive 100% of the time. When I plug my backup drive in, it

would automatically prompt me asking if I wanted to start the backup

synchronization or not.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Hello Karen,

Welcome to Mac's OS X. I recently made the switch and am much happier now that my computer is no longer spends half of its time "updating".

There is a command line utility that does exactly what you want (and more if you care). It is called "rsynch" and is already part of Mac OS X. Check out the man page (in terminal, of course). I use this in a "bash" script to duplicate my main drive to a backup drive. Since rsync does not copy files that are already up to date, the copy is quite fast. You have a lot of control over how to do this (like making hard links to files that were not modified...), but it is command line stuff and can get a little complicated to explain. Surf the web for more, you will find lots of info, since rsync is also part of Linux.