Essential Wedding Equipment

o._wagner

I am mainly a portrait photographer but will now be getting into weddings. I

have assisted several pros this wedding season but have now booked some of my

own weddings for 2007. I am slowly adding to my equipment for wedding

photography and wanted some opinions on your *essential* wedding set-up.

Here's what I have so far and what is on my list. Also, feel free to comment

on anything I may be missing or items that have been helpful to you.

Canon 20D,

24-70L f/2.8,

70-200L f/2.8,

Tamron 18-200,

50mm f/1.8

On my list:

Canon 30D,

550ex or 580ex,

2 Alien Bees umbrella lights

I also have miscellaneous things like extra batteries, lots of memory, belt

pack, reflector, etc.

20D ^ 17~40mm ^ Quantum T5 --thats pretty much all I bring to a wedding-for digital ..sometimes I will use the 580EX --if the power is not required of the Quantum.

EOS3 28-70mm for film >> thats all I use 99% (rarely pull out the 70~200, just the large Church ceremony)

O. - throw away your tamron 18-200 unless you want a slow focusing lens that only delivers good image quality .

if you are shooting wedidngs like the most of us, I recommend the 10-22mm for around $700 or so. weddings have some tight spaces.

I would also recommend the 85mm 1.8 over the 70-200 for most times - I find it less obtrusive, faster to focus, yields more stunning portraits wide open and is a lot lighter to carry. my 70-200 comes out only for ceremonies nowadays.

O. - if we are talking essentials, then the 70-200 is not essential.

a flash is - I recommend the 580ex.

also - you need a second boyd. what happens if yours gets wet and stops working for three hours? do you grab a hair dryer? no. you need a second body. of course, I recommend not getting the 30D and getting a second 20D instead of a lower end backup body. why?