Should I buy new 300D?

drjt87

I just saw a 300D new available for $500 AUD (about $360 USD). Its from a large

department store, and it comes with everything except the kit lens (which I

don't need anyway). Just wondering, is it worth getting? I currently only have

a rebel film camera.

What I want would be a full frame camera, but then as a student, my finances don't exactly allow that. What I need is a decent digital camera that can take photos instantly (no lag after pressing button). Since I have a few good primes already, I'm not worried about the lens. By the comments so far, I guess its not a bad idea to get it?

"...By the comments so far, I guess its not a bad idea to get it?.."

Use the "opportunity cost" concept. The 300d will cost you A$500 - what lease can you get for this money? What can you get for the difference you'll save by not buying something more expensive? What features are you going to miss if you take the 300d route? Is it worth the difference in cost?

Also, make sure you get a proper 12-month warranty with it. And make sure it's actually 'new' as advertised.

If you can afford it and it has everything you want, go for it. Its not going to be your last camera. Get it now and start taking pictures. You can debate all you want but in the end you're always going to compromise. After you've used a few cameras, you will know what's important to you and you wont have to ask anyone.

Good Luck

"it's remarkable they still have 'new' 300D's. Which store in Australia?"

Plenty of places in the USA still have the Rebel Digital/300D. Most are displaying 3

generations of Rebels side by side. I just saw an EOS 10D at the local Ritz. Plenty of old stock

in the Canon point 'n shoots digicams as well.

Sometimes the light’s all shining on me. Other times I can barely see.

- Robert Hunter