fade in/out with flash

jgrim8

Hi all. I'm very new with Flash. My main page to my website has a

flash show, which is good. But I would like to fade the photos in

and out for a smooth transition. Does anyone know how to do this in

Flash? Thanks!

Just say, "No."

Flash is too slow. It ticks people off. When 95% of your audience has a fast version of broad band, then use flash. Right now too many of us either don't have broadband, or have a slow version of it. As soon as I click on a flash site, I look for a "skip" button. If I don't see one right away, I go some where else.

Jennifer, I don't have an answer to your question but I just visited your site and like it. I don't mind Flash when I'm on DSL. It's quick enough and a good design with smallish photos can be very appealing. Even on a fast dialup I don't mind a well designed Flash site as long as the photos aren't oversized.

However, you might consider adding an HTML option for folks on dialup or those who simply don't care for Flash. When I'm on a slower connection I appreciate sites that offer this option.

Also, a couple of minor nits:

1. There's no obvious way to navigate back to certain sections on your site. You should include a "Home" and "Back" option on every page. You might be surprised at the number of folks using the web who don't know how to use the back button on their browser.

For example, from the "wedding.htm" page, once an option is selected (Anticipation, Ceremony, Celebration, Details), there's no obvious way to navigate back to this main page.

Granted, you'd think most folks would understand how to do this without it being spelled out in huge screaming letters. But after years of watching my grandmother, mom and cousin struggle with web browsing, I'm convinced the best solution is to make things as easy as possible for viewers. Personally, I'm comfortable with tabbed browsing using Firefox, but no matter how hard I try I can't convey the concept to my mom.