A lot of clients are starting to ask about digital coffee table

books. I really love Asuka Book (their prices are really good), but

you have to design the whole thing yourself...which I wouldn't mind,

but I'm not a designer and what if I don't have a lot of time. Then

there is Leather Craftsman, who design it for you, yet their prices

are a little high....but you do get what you pay for. White Wedding

Album is not bad (kind of in between the price range). My question

is...do you design your own album and charge for design time too, or

do you get your album company to do it for you. Just curious.

Hey, I've been wondering the same thing. I'm planning to put a couple of DIY books together for family to document some important things going on for posterity.

I do have a background in design, from the grunt work of running a phototypesetter and applying hot wax to the copy, to designing pages (and I used to be pretty good at calligraphy before my hands got trembly). But I'll admit to being a bit intimidated by the all-on-screen process. When I was doing it years ago it was all done by hand, sketching ideas on paper, transferring them for paste up, evaluating everything and redoing it a few times. I tried to get the hang of using software with my old Macs and some programs that were pretty spiffy for that time. But I never felt comfortable with it.

I haven't tackled this project yet and won't charge my family anything for one copy per each family in the immediate circle (I'll have to charge my cost beyond that, tho'). I'll regard it as practice. But if I was going to offer this as a service instead of traditional albums I would very definitely factor it in as a legitimate cost.