Hi - having now spent loads of time takes some nice shots and

adjusting them on PS Elements 4, I am just getting into printing

them...

I've got an HP Officejet 7130 and it seems to print blues and whites

pretty nicely, but warner tones (sunsets etc.) come out as if they've

been through the washing machine (ie. they are muted, unsaturated and

generally rubbish)!

I've played around with printer settings and PS settings a bit but

I'm getting a bit lost! Any tips (including "get a better printer")

would be appreciated... I need to keep the HP as it's for work, but

could accomodate a second printer as long as it's not huge...

Thanks

BTW, I'm using an EOS 20D set to Adobe RGB, shoot mostly in RAW +

large/best qual JPEG, use a couple of Canon L lenses and am using

good quality photo papers (teamed up with the best qual and

recommended settings on the printer) if that's of any relevance?

You really do need a photo printer. A deskjet (of any kind) really won't give you what you want.

If you are willing to spend about $400, the HP 8750 is terrific. If you only want up to legal size, the 8250 is very cpmpetent.

If you want no larger than legal and you like to print B&W go toeBay and hunt an HP 7960. They can still be had NIB there. I just had one of my students buy one on eBay because she wanted both color and B&W. The color may be a tad better on the 8250 but it can't match the B&W on either the 8750 or 7960.

Conni

Thanks, Conni - I'm happy to spend $400 (or same in ᆪ as I'm in land of grey and drizzle)! Does it come with software to help a very computer-literate but only a little colour management-literate person ensure what comes out on paper looks like what's on screen?

Just so I'm clear... as I DO like printing B&W, are you saying that the 8750 is a good B&W printer, or would that be the other model you mention?

Simon

Simon: