find a lot (greater than 70%) of the listed photogs are average and

have no clear style. There are a lot of good and very talented

photog's listed, but it does not represent the majority (which is what

I thought I would see).

So, my question is, why join/apply there? Does it include you in an

exclusive club that is perceived to be the 'better' shooters, or is it

merely another award winning ego trip/marketing tool for the large

part?

I'll admit that the WPJA intrests me. I have looked into it for these reasons: I am still fairly new at wedding photography, and it is a thing to boast about on my website to customers. If I entered some contests, and did well, I would have that "award winning" in my bio. If someone was looking at the WPJA website and liked it, there would be a link to my website.

But, let me tell you the reasons I am not going to apply at this point. 1)I am not sure if I am good enough. 2)I fear the rejection!

and 3) (the most important reason) I still feel there is a need for traditional photography at a wedding. (At least in my area) The majority of my customers want traditional images ALONG WITH photojournalistic image. They like the photojournalistic style, but don't want to give up the posed wedding party images and the alter images of the B&G, the wedding party, and the families. I still want to capture all the details of the wedding... the details that the bride spent hours agonizing over, picking out. She wants them documented. The WPJA says that only less than 20 % of your images on your website can be posed, or detail shots. I feel this would misrepresent me, because I feel that would not be acurate to what the bride would get if she hired me.

Don't get me wrong, I still take a lot of photojournalistic images, and I like them, but I am not willing to give up the rest.