Another mystery hawk

karl_lehmann

I'm with Bill -- if small, almost certainly a juvenile/immature gabar goshawk. The feet look

pretty hefty, though, and since we can't judge the size there's a remote possibility it might be

a juvenile chanting goshawk (either dark c.g., or pale c.g.; I can't tell). It's been WAY too

many years since I saw these in the wild for me to be at all sure.

This is truly difficult. I have some knowledge of the birds of East & Central Africa and have also referred back to the guide I used ( Williams/Arlott ) and can find nothing that really fits.

The Goshawks appear to have red legs and not yellow but the red face/beak markings ( I think that is what the photograph shows ) seem to fit with the Gabar and the Dark Chanting. Have no information on a change of leg colour when maturity is reached so perhaps someone could help on this.

Little Sparrowhawk has the yellow legs but not the red face/beak markings.

My reference does not include South Africa in the range/habitat for any of the above noted. May be that this is a specifically South African species and someone with greater knowledge of that area would be needed to help.

If I get a chance over the weekend I will try and check further but at present it seems to be another ( possibly immature ) mystery. Sorry I cannot help further.

• 1 month later...
This hawk species has attacked my two dogs in Staten Island, NY. I have no idea what they are called but they are in Bloomingdale Park in Staten Island,New York. There are a couple and they are extremely bold in that they will come into a yard even when human(s) are present. I have called up the NY City wildlife to complain that these birds are now too comfortable in that they are attacking domestic pets. The male has a four foot wing span and the female about 2.5 to 3 feet. They are now not only in South Africa but now in the suburbs of the city of New York, USA.