Pick one of these lenses please

etan_lightstone

Sorry to bore you with a question that likely gets asked every 20mins

here.

The following are a selection of lenses in a price range I can handle.

even the one for close to 800.00 is pushing what I'm willing to spend.

I have a canon 300D (1.6x sensor)

I just need a (single) good telephoto zoom that's the best all purpose

zoom I can get. I'm not a pro, but sometimes I do some contract

photography work. This one telephoto zoom might be used to shoot

landscapes (not wide obviously) to sports, or even a play rehersal. I

AM WILLING TO SACRIFICE DARKER F-STOPS FOR COST, as long as the lens

is sharp.

I already have a *barf* Quantaray 100-300 4.5 -6.7 (although for some

reason my 300D only shows 5.6 at the 300 end). And this lens is quite

soft. Also, the focus motor sounds like its grinding human bones.. and

is slower than other supposedly slow motors :)

Anyhow here is the list... if you feel something is missing let me know:

sigma 135-400mm F4.5-5.6 for 549.0

sigma 70-200 2.8 for 789.00

canon 70-200 f/4.0L for 584.00

canon 70-300 IS USM 564.00

Tokina 80-400 4.5-5.6 for 450.00

Tokina 80-200 2.8 for 609.00

>Sorry to bore you with a question that likely gets asked every 20mins here.

If you say "likely" that suggests that you haven't taken the time to search the forum for

previous answers to the question. Which, as you have correctly guessed, is frequently

asked with many variants.

So. Please search the forum.

Or just get either the 70-200 4L or the 70-300 IS depending on whether you need IS or

longer reach. Since I'm not psychic and since you haven't really described well what you

need the lens for, I can't answer that.

I should begin by stating that I don't have any experience with any of these lenses, but from

my experience the canon lenses seem to be the best. If it were me I would probably go for

the 70-200 f/4 and then buy a 50mm f/1.8 (should be around $100) for the real low light