ben conover

Hello, I am the proud owner of a B&J press camera. I have three lenses

for it. I have taken off the rangefinder, the viewfinder and all the

leather. I will replace the leather with new and use the camera with a

black cloak as a view camera. The B&j has good movements including bed

drop and 1:1 with ease.

My question is about movements, what is a good place to start learning

about movements? I am trawling the beginners forum but would love a

link to someplace with graphic photo instruction, since I am a beginner.

Thanks very much.

Search Amazon, eBay, etc., for "view camera" under the "books" heading and you'll come up with quite a few basic view camera technique tomes. Adam's "Camera and Lens" is a good basic place to start and Kodak has put out some good small paperbacks on the subject through the years.

Leonard's suggestion for

www.largeformatphotography.info

is an excellent one even though it has an extra 'r' in it! It has a great deal of other practical assistance with getting started.

I find the movements I use most are :

1) front rise for buildings, trees any other tall things.

2) back (or front) tilt in landscape shots to place the plane of focus so as to get maximum depth of field.

have fun!

If you do an "advanced search" on Google using all of the words "view camera movements" you'll find some information on line. The first article listed, which is a tutorial at the Luminous Landscape site, is pretty good. I'd suggest not trying to learn every movement at once, pick one movement and learn it, then move on to another. Front tilt is probably the single most commonly used movement, at least by landscape photographers. The nice thing about learning view camera movements is that you don't need to actually make any photographs as you're learning them, you can see everything that's happening right on the ground glass.